I don’t know what the outside world is anymore

Well another Wednesday means another email from your favorite elder at the MTC! Just kidding… ya’ll are probably tired of reading these things by now…But this week was actually pretty cool! As far as MTC weeks go this one definitely had some awesome experiences!

So definitely the biggest thing this week was that we got to hear Elder Dallin H. Oaks of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles come and speak to us last night, and that was truly awesome. Elder Horton and I managed to get front row and center seats due to my “disability“, so we were literally 5 feet away from an Apostle while he gave us a talk on the importance of missionary work. So cool. He even made eye contact with me more than a few times, kinda scary but at the same time super cool. The Spirit in the entire room was so strong and the lessons he taught were so pertinent and important to those of us about to teach and serve in the field. My favorite part of the whole devotional was when Elder Oaks was reading off of Preach My Gospel, and he read of a quote in the book and said “Do you know whose quote that was? Mine!” and then he started laughing. But really he is one of the most down to earth people I have ever heard speak, and it was such a blessing to be able to learn from him.

The other cool that happened this week by chance was that I got to teach a couple of gold tag investigators. So at the MTC people can sign up to be “gold tag” investigators, and they wear these gold tags that just say “guest” on them, and wander around the MTC looking to be taught by missionaries. They can be church members, and sometimes they aren’t, but they always act the part of a true investigator. Well on Monday Elder Horton was in an interview, so I was temporarily assigned Elder Hintze (the other one in the boot) to be my companion for like a few hours. He had to go to the doctor, so we went to the clinic and they said that they had forgotten to make his appointment, so we were left high and dry. It was time for gym at this point, and for obvious reasons neither of us could participate, so we decided to go back to the room and chill out for an hour. During the walk back we bumped into Jose, who was wearing a gold tag. Jose is from Guatemala and speaks pretty limited English. Thankfully I took Spanish for two years in elementary school, and Elder Hintze speaks a little bit of Spanish, even though he is going to Hong Kong speaking Cantonese, so we could just barely understand him. Jose said that he met with some missionaries about a week ago and they planned to teach him again at the time when we ran into him. He said that he had been waiting for 15 minutes and nobody had showed up yet. At this point his wife, Hely (Yep that’s how it’s spelled) showed up and asked if these were the missionaries they were waiting on. I looked at Elder Hintze and was like “Dude let’s just teach them instead of chilling in the room.” He was like “Dude FORSURE” So we told them we could teach. We ended up teaching one of the craziest lessons of my life! With The Spirit, and with me and Elder Hintze’s VERY limited Spanish and their very limited English, we managed to teach an incredible 1.5 hour lesson on The Restoration. Just crazy. At the very end of the lesson, we asked if we could pray in Chinese, just because that’s what were used to, and gladly they said yes. As I speak Mandarin and Elder Hintze speaks Cantonese, we asked which one they preferred, and Hely chose Cantonese. At the end of the prayer, we looked up and Hely was just completely bawling… like lost all control. We asked her what was wrong and she said that her father moved from Guangdong to Guatemala before she was born, and his native language was Cantonese. She said she would have never thought that the missionaries would say a prayer in Cantonese in her life. Needless to say, we definitely touched her heart with the Spirit. We proceeded to set up another lesson for next Monday.

As for the more lighthearted things of the week… The MTC had Subway catering on Monday, and two of the elders going to Taibei in another district in my zone had a competition to see how much they could eat. One of them managed to put down SIX six inch subs, and the other managed to put down SIX SUBS AND DESSERT. So they both ate 3 feet of subway in about 30 minutes. Our floor bathroom definitely got wrecked that night…

So update on my foot: I have what’s called a Dancer’s Fracture, basically its where a ligament or tendon pulls off a piece of bone from the 5th metatarsal. The doctor has allowed me to start putting weight on it now, SO NO MORE SCOOTER! But I’ll still be in a boot until next Friday when I can take it off. After that I’ll be in an ankle brace for about 3 months is what he said. It doesn’t hurt anymore, but I am playing it safe because he said if I don’t it could heal improperly and I would have much bigger problems… so yeah. But he did say that it is healing faster than normal, so that’s good!

Week 7 podiatrist

Field trip to the podiatrist last Friday

Also I just went to the Barbershop AGAIN and got my hair wrecked AGAIN. But its ok, I’ve accepted it, I’m a missionary now and the name that’s on my tag is more important than my hair looking good.

IMG_0080

About to enter my favorite place at the MTC! Just kidding I hate it!

As always, thank you so much for the letters and the packages, they are always awesome!

I hope y’all have a great week and stay focused on what’s most important! I love you all!

Love,

Elder Stroud

 

Leave a Reply

