1000 Year Old Eggs and Qings On Deck (Taiwan Week 4)

WELL DA JIA HAO TO YOU ALL and thanks for tuning in to another week of my adventures in the promised land of Anding/Taiwan!

Let’s get started shall we?

This week was super jam packed!! It’s started off with us going to that beach activity in Anping kind of over by Tainan. It was super fun, but I forgot to bring my camera, so no pictures sorry! Funny thing was that there was this random Taiwanese dude who was basically water-boarding himself in the waves, like he was laying on his stomach and letting the waves overcome him on the shore and it looked like he was trying to drown himself, but he kept laughing and saying how good it felt. Lol weird dude. Also at the beach it happened to be Memorial Day back in America, and there happened to be a fighter jet that flew over us, so it was like we had a little Memorial Day flyover, and I felt super patriotic, and may or may not have shed a red white and blue tear.

On Tuesday we were biking home from contacting in Annan, and we decided to stop by this little cake stand to buy some cakes from this lady who loves the missionaries, but has no interest in the gospel. As we were waiting for her to cook them up (They are very similar to American pancakes) she asked if we were hungry, and we said, “no we just ate”, and she whipped out this box of pizza from nowhere and told us to have some. Well this pizza was mushroom, corn, peas, and pineapple pizza, which literally all are nasty on pizza, and together they are even worse. Also it was sitting there for who knows how long because it was cold. But anyways… I took one slice because it was the polite thing to do and she insisted I take another. So I somehow managed to choke down these two nasty pizza slices, and we were on our way back home.

Speaking of nasty things THIS WEEK I WAS FORCED TO EAT 1000 YEAR OLD EGG. So basically imagine a rotten but preserved egg. The egg is black and SOOOOOOOOO nasty. But my trainer forced me to eat it, and to be honest, it was the single grossest thing I have ever eaten. Like I took one bite and ran to the trash can and literally threw up… like not even just spit the egg out, but threw up the rest of the contents in my stomach as well…

6-4-16 1000 yr egg

The 1000 year old egg

6-4-16 1000 yregg

Close Up

We met this guy whose name is Sketchy Underground Frank. Not even kidding haha. He buys all these fake things from China for the missionaries here. Watches, Jerseys anything… you name it. But he tried to sell me a bunch of random stuff, and I was like… I can get this back in America through other sketchy websites. Well he didn’t believe me, and I showed him on his phone and his mind was blown, and I gained so much respect and street cred from him lol.

6-4-16 sketchy frank

Sketchy Underground Frank (I asked him if he knew what his shirt said, and he said no. hahahaha) Chinese people just wear random English shirts here because they think its cool

Oh probably the funniest thing that happened this week was when we were outside and this random kid came up to us and tried to speak some English, well his English was trash, but we told him our English names anyways (Elder Stroud). Well in China/Taiwan all of the people’s surnames have a meaning… like for example… Jeremy Lin the NBA player… Lin is pronounced like “leen” and it means a forest or grove of trees. Well this kid asked what Stroud meant, and I was like… “Um, nothing it’s just a last name”, and he didn’t believe me, so I said “you know the word “Cloud” right”, and he was like “yeah”. I then said “A Stroud is just a really big cloud” and so I looked up at the sky and pointed towards a cloud and said “See that cloud? It’s too small to be a Stroud, and there aren’t any clouds out right now that are Strouds”. This kid totally believed me and now he thinks that really big clouds are called Strouds!! hahahahahahaha

On Thursday we got taken out to an Argentinian steakhouse by that same lady who took us out for Thai food a few weeks ago. I HAD A 700$ KUAI STEAK. Literally that’s like the price of 10 solid dinners here! She loves taking the missionaries out because she served a mission in Taibei a long time ago, so she knows what it’s like to be us. But right now she is a Less-Active and just has lost her testimony, so we decided to meet with her every week and re-teach her all of the lessons!

We got qinged by another family last week as well, and they took us to this place in Tainan for dinner, which is super far from my area. So we got back to Anding at like 9pm after teaching them a lesson and eating dinner, and missionaries have to be in there apartments at 9pm. Well Anding is like at least an hour bike ride from our apartment in Yong Kang, and if you’re going to be out past 10:30PM you have to call the mission president and let him know. That phone call is literally the phone call of shame, and basically every missionary dreads doing that, so we decided to HAUL back home. We did a normal hour+ bike ride in 35 minutes. I couldn’t feel my quads once we got home and I looked like I had jumped in a pool.

We were biking in Anding and saw this MASSIVE statue from far away, and we decided to go see what it was. Well we got there, and it was this super super super eerie abandoned place like you just felt like that horror movie kind of feel like, definitely some bad spirits there, and it was this huge Buddhist statue, and we took a picture and got out of there as quickly as possible.

6-4-16statue

Crazy huge statue

That’s about it for this week! This week I really focused on faith, like just having complete faith in the Lord for everything. It really helped me a ton. I challenge you all to do that same thing, and I promise it will help you too! I love you all, go make a difference in the world this week!

Love,

Elder Stroud

Leave a Reply

