One Year Down, One To Go

031117 Anniversary Shirt Burning

Traditional 1 Year Mark – Burning of a shirt!

Well the big day finally came and passed, I have officially hit the halfway point of my mission. As I look back on the past year of my life, I can honestly say that I have grown and matured more than I have the entire rest of my life.

Missionary work is hard. There is no missionary on earth who can’t say that. Every day you live by extremely high standards, an exhausting schedule of work, and you see countless times of rejection and disappointment, after rejection and disappointment.

031117 Bring the world truth

Bring the world His truth.

There are two big things I have learned in the past year.

  1. No matter the situation, whether it be hard or easy, whether you have an effect on the outcome, favorable or not, you can always choose the attitude you have throughout the whole process. I have definitely had the hardest times of my life on the mission, but because I choose to try and keep a positive attitude throughout the trials, I know that they were easier to overcome.
  1. Turning outward is the most effective remedy for hard times. There is no way I would voluntarily subject myself to the trials of missionary work, if it were not for the people. Looking back on the past year and all of the sucky times that it has included, everything has all been balanced out by realizing how many people I have helped turn to the gospel of Jesus Christ. Seeing the change and progression that the gospel has on people, and the outcome of everything makes it all worth it. When we are selfless and turn outward is when we have the easiest times. Helping others only helps ourselves.

I am so grateful for this opportunity that I have been given to serve this people for two years, and I definitely ready to hit the ground even harder this last year. My goal is to help as many people as possible, and get on that plane home feeling accomplished. Going home with super good Chinese is another goal as well.

This week we found some new investigators and dropped in some baptismal goals, so the work is moving along well here. Today we are going to the famous 龍虎塔 (Tiger Dragon Tower) to check it out for pday! It should be super fun!

Last week’s trip to Monkey Mountain was awesome.  Check out those monkeys!

031117 Monkey Mountail Little guy031117 Hike Monkey Mt031117 Me at Monkey Mt

I love you all and hope you have another great one!

Love,

Elder Stroud

P.S.  Here’s a couple pictures of my new favorite snacks we eat at Qijin Island – grilled squid on a stick and “bucket of snails” (both actually super good!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

